All Books

In the 12-book series The Lima Bear Stories, the basic characters appear and reappear. Each has a distinct personality that shines through in every story.

While the children have no idea what twists and turns the story may take, they come to know the characters and have a pretty good idea of how they are likely to act in different situations and settings. Children become friends with the characters as they read the stories over and over. There is a form of bonding that develops.

Each story carries an important overriding message such as courage, tolerance, honesty, forgiveness, teamwork and many more that help children with life’s issues and lessons. We believe that this bonding creates a more profound understanding and appreciation of the message.

The special ‘Extend the Learning’ and ‘Activity’ pages allow teachers, parents, and grandparents to introduce concepts before reading, ask questions during and following the reading, and then participate in an activity to encourage the children to be involved in the concepts. They enhance the fun and learning experience of each book.

All books are 8.5 x 11, hard cover with dust jacket
Full color illustrations, 32 pages
Extended Learning & Activity pages for parents & teachers

Bully Bean_front cover

Bully Bean

In the kingdom of Beandom, Bully Bean is feared. He makes fun of other beans, plays mean tricks, and puts others in danger. Lima Bear seems to be Bully Bean’s favorite bean to pick on, perhaps because Lima Bear is the only bean with green fur and is always helping others. The message of the story: Turn a bully into a friend.

How Back Back Got His Name

Can you imagine what it would be like to lose you back!!? Well, that is exactly what happens to Plumpton, the Opossum. Lima Bear and his clever friends become detectives searching for this missing back. The message of the story: Tolerating differences in others creates benefits.
Cave Monster_front cover

The Cave Monster

Oh no! L. Joe Bean, Lima Bear’s cousin, has been captured by the Cave Monster. Lima Bear and his friends enter the dangerous Black Cave to save L. Joe Bean. The Cave Monster attacks. Will they save L. Joe Bean in time? The message of the story: Individually afraid, friends find courage acting together.
Labyrinth_front cover

The Labyrinth

Princess Belinda Bean takes the throne as Queen and Ruler of Beandom. All are happy except Mean ol’ Bean, who wants to be the king and ruler. The message of the story: Always make room for forgiveness in your heart.
Megasaurus_front cover

The Megasaurus

What’s the King of Beandom to do? The tiny, multicolored beans of Beandom are under attack by a monster. Even the King’s wisest advisors seem unable find a solution. Who will save Beandom? The message of the story: Follow your convictions even when others think differently.
Treasure Hunt_ftcvr_rev2015

The Treasure Hunt

The newest title The Treasure Hunt extends the Lima Bear Stories series to the older children ages 8-12. The same characters that the younger children have come to know and love appear page after page but now on new adventures to delight the older ones.